Overwatch League – Details for 2018’s Path to Pro

Overwatch League

Last month, we shared an overview of our plans for the Path to Pro in 2018, including an expansion of participating regions, and a promotion/relegation tournament between Open Division and Overwatch Contenders called Contenders Trials. As we approach the beginning of a new year, the first step on the Path to Pro is open for registration—and we have more details about Overwatch Contenders.

Open Division Registration Is Now Live!

For those who want to try organized competitive play, Open Division is for you, and registration is now live. Open Division will run in the same seven regions as Contenders: Australia, China, Europe, Korea, North America, the Pacific, and South America.

  • Registration is now live at the Overwatch Open Division hub!
  • Play begins in January.
  • No rank restrictions.
  • Six-week, Swiss-format season.
  • Top teams will be invited to Contenders Trials.

Introducing Overwatch League Academy Teams

Our Overwatch League teams are keen to develop up-and-coming talent. To facilitate this, in 2018 we are inviting Overwatch League Academy Teams into Contenders, alongside the other invitees from 2017’s regional tournaments. Each Overwatch League team was given the option to field a Contenders roster in a region of their choice. The Overwatch League teams that will establish Academy Teams are:

  • Contenders China: Shanghai Dragons
  • Contenders Europe: London Spitfire
  • Contenders North America: Boston Uprising, Florida Mayhem, Houston Outlaws, Los Angeles Gladiators, NYXL, Philadelphia Fusion, San Francisco Shock

2018 Overwatch Contenders Season 1 Invitations

As mentioned in last month’s Path to Pro announcement, top teams from APEX, Premier Series, the Pacific Championship, and initial seasons of Contenders North America and Europe also have been invited to their region’s Contenders, based on final 2017 standings. The invites are as follows:

Contenders China

  1. 1246
  2. Legend Young Beyond
  3. LGD Gaming
  4. LinGan esports
  5. Lucky Future
  6. Miracle Team 1
  7. Miraculous Youngster
  8. Vici Gaming

Contenders Europe

  1. 123
  2. Bazooka Puppiez
  3. eUnited
  4. GamersOrigin
  5. Singularity
  6. Team Gigantti

Contenders Korea

  1. BlossoM (formerly GC Busan)
  2. Kongdoo Panthera
  3. Lunatic-Hai
  4. Foxes (formerly NC Foxes)
  5. Runaway
  6. WSG Red (formerly LW RED)
  7. X-6 Gaming
  8. Conbox

Additionally, Element Mystic, MiG (formerly Afreeca Freecs), Meta Athena, Meta Bellum, MVP Space, and Seven are invited to Korea’s first Contenders Trials.

Contenders North America

  1. Envision
  2. Faze Clan
  4. Rogue

Additionally, Kungarna and the Detroit Renegades are invited to North America’s first Contenders Trials.

Contenders Pacific

  1. ahq e-Sports Club
  2. Ardeont
  3. Blank Esports
  4. Flash Wolves
  5. Hong Kong Attitude
  6. Libalent Supreme
  7. Machi Esports
  8. MEGA Esports

These teams will have until January 9 to accept. For Contenders Australia and South America, the top eight teams from Open Division will be invited. Teams placed 9th–16th will compete in Contenders Trials for the remaining four Contenders slots.

Last but not least, the full 2018 Overwatch Contenders Season 1 ruleset is now available.

Whether you’re stepping out into the Open with your friends or a Contender preparing to show what you’ve got (starting in March), the 2018 Path to Pro is underway. Get practicing, heroes!